Emmanuel, God is with us, El Shaddai, all sufficient… these words always come to mind in my darker times and I am then filled with the lyrics from one of Natalie Grant’s songs as follows:

“Emanuel, God is with us
El Shaddai, all sufficient
We never walk alone And this is our hope
Our hope endures the worst of conditions
It’s more than our optimism
Let the earth quake, let the earth quake
Let the earth quake, our hope is unchanged”

 

This can sometimes be a difficult thing to do.  To hope.  To wonder.  To pray in the face of the unknown future.  It’s easier said than done to just live for today and not worry too much about what’s in store tomorrow.  Knowing God is there and that He is all sufficient is comforting to me in the midst of my worries. But at the same time, finding peace and trusting Him when you don’t know the answer to something or to how it’s all going to turn out in the end can be near impossible.  It is clinging to Him for just the strength for one more minute, one more hour, one more day; just a minute at a time, hour at a time, day at a time, is sometimes all the strength we can muster.  And that is all you really need.
Even though I am not struggling so much right now with trying to conceive I feel it in me already creeping back in.  I also have friends who are pregnant right now, some with their first baby, some with their second or third babies.  Some friends of mine are battling with infertility for their first, second, or third baby, others are dealing with loss of their pregnancies.  I want to be one of those women who easily conceives their second child.  To have an element of surprise.  However, I’m under no illusion that it will come easily for me.  Although, there’s that hope again that creeps in…the same hope I felt during our first pregnancy that ended in miscarriage.  The same hope I felt through each cycle and test to conceive Ryne.  The same hope I felt through my pregnancy with Ryne every step of the way.  We are resilient beings.  With a hope that truly does endure, sometimes even the most heartbreaking of situations.  It is through these seasons of endurance that our hope becomes even more precious.  More prominent too.  It becomes weighted.  It means more.  It has been tested and tried and yet still, hope prevails.
So no matter what you are facing right now and no matter how long you’ve been battling with whatever situation is getting you down, take it from a lady who has been through quite a few different battles in her day that the reward on the other end of the battle is well worth the fight.  Sometimes we don’t understand that the reward we get is the one we were fighting for until years later, but sure enough, if you cling to His Word and trust in His understanding and not the one of this world, you will be provided for.  (Proverbs 3:5-6)
