Two days in a row…this is too much already, I know!  Anyway, I thought about blogging this morning before I even got out of bed.  I think about blogging all the time, it just doesn’t get done.  But I am constantly thinking about things I want to journal and share so that I don’t forget!  This blog is more for me than anyone else, remember?!  That being said though, I hope it does help in some way if you’ve come across this page, or warm your heart from the experiences I share.

I am happy this morning.  I woke up pretty happy.  Even when my almost 2 year old came into our room whimpering for me at 5 something AM.  I welcomed his warm little body into our bed as he climbed up next to me to snuggle.  It was enough for him to just make it to the bed with me…lying near my knees as he kind of snuggled his sweet little head into my legs.  I let him lie there, fallen back to sleep, for a few minutes before I pulled him up closer to my chest.  As he lie there sleeping, I felt little kicks, jabs, or punches on the right side of my belly so I rested my hand there to feel them even better.  Wondering if they were little arms or legs or elbows.  Baby movement inside is so fascinating to me and I can never quite seem to figure out what exactly baby is doing or what position he or she is in.  Anyway, I just relished this moment with my two babies in the quiet darkness of the early morning.  A time where I wasn’t annoyed by the unexpected intrusion into my bed, which apparently also woke up the new littlest one who wanted to let me know that he or she was in there too, dreaming away.  The little bumps settled back down and Ryne’s breath grew deep.  I just enjoyed it and I wish I could capture that moment here to come back to some day when my babies are much bigger and they aren’t crawling into our bed anymore.  The knowledge that these sweet times go by far too quickly just makes my heart sad but I’m grateful for moments like this morning where I can simply be in the moment and enjoy what God has provided for me in it.

And my devotional this morning, from Jesus Calling by Sarah Young, is so beautiful and captures the closeness we are to have with God and I feel our relationship with Him can be such a reflection of what I experienced with my little ones this morning.

“I continually call you to closeness with Me.  I know the depth and breadth of your need for Me.  I can read the emptiness of your thoughts when they wander away from Me.  I offer rest for your soul, as well as refreshment for your mind and body.  As you increasingly find fulfillment in Me, other pleasures become less important.  Knowing Me intimately is like having a private wellspring of Joy within you.  This spring flows freely from My throne of grace, so your Joy is independent of circumstances.

Waiting in My Presence keeps you connected to Me, aware of all that I offer you.  If you feel any deficiency, you need to refocus your attention on Me.  This is how you trust Me in the moments of your life.”

I so needed that this morning along with these powerful words that are speaking straight to me in exactly what I am going through.  Just more proof to my heart that scripture is God-breathed and truly living and applicable to each of us.  God meets us just where we are and has a word to say for every situation.

“Instead, I have calmed and quieted myself, like a weaned child who no longer cries for his mother’s milk.  Yes, like a weaned child is my soul within me.”

“But I have calmed and quieted myself, I am like a weaned child with its mother; like a weaned child I am content.”

Psalm 131:2

And the verse before this one, Psalm 131:1 “I do not concern myself with great matters or things too difficult for me to grasp.”

I haven’t mentioned our weaning process with Ryne but it has been very slow and natural for both of us and it has been sweet.  The other day I just lost it though with emotions of it all ending since the time has gone so quickly.  Yes, TWO years of nursing has gone by too quick!  I didn’t set a date or plan a big scheme to end it, it just kind of is happening.  Pretty much has happened at this point.  So to have this verse laid before me, waiting for me, at just this right timing is a beautiful way to recognize the end of that particular facet of our relationship.  All while recognizing how wonderful and beautiful a weaned child with his mother can be.  Contented.  Calmed.  And can still draw that closeness and contentment from its mother without the need to nurse.  I needed that for my soul.  Thank You, God, for Your ever-present, powerful, timely Word.  Thank You that we too can be contented and calmed by our closeness with You.   

I had something else in mind entirely for today’s post but that will have to wait for another day.

