I have always loved writing, journaling, blogging, vlogging, whatever you want to call documenting life’s happenings and either keeping it private or sharing it with the world.  I was in on the blogging thing when it first got started and I had a massive blog that I kept up very well and was very consistent, but it wasn’t for anyone in particular, it was for me.  My journals and blogs have always really been for me but there have been a few times when I have been more active and connected in the blogging world where I have crossed paths with some really cool folks and I’ve loved the connection.  You know, when that other person just seems to “get” you, without having to explain yourself?

The social world we live in today is FULL of people searching for something or someone just like them, for something they can belong to, turn to for advice, guidance, or ideas.  I’ve been there too.  And for me, it has been truly life changing.  Not in a light sense either.  My connections literally changed my life, my ideas, expanded my ways of thinking, and exposed me to more encouragement and support than I ever could have imagined.  The internet has a funny way of breaking down barriers when you are willing to be vulnerable.  There are support groups, niche groups, and secret groups.  My turning point began when I was walking through one of the lowest times I’ve ever experienced, processing through my miscarriage and battling full force with infertility on the way to conceiving again.  I stumbled across a community that got me.  That had been on the same path I was walking.  They could relate to my feelings and desires when seemingly no one around me in my “real world” could.  I want to provide something of solace, insight, fun, quirkiness, and faith to those who may stumble across my little space in the internet world.

I am long-winded, both in person and in type.  I feel passionately.  I get so caught up when talking about my passions that everyone else in the room seems to vanish, just like it was yesterday when I found my passion to serve families as they journey to become parents.  My goal for this blog is to cover a variety of topics, simply to do what I call “real-life blogging”.  Many others do this through vlogs and whatnot and maybe one day I’ll start to settle in to maybe one or two very specific niches for myself, but mainly I see this as a springboard to helping others through sharing our life.  What we love, what we’re going through, our thoughts on the products and services we use every day, and how we are applying God’s Word in our lives.  My dream is to create a space of positivity and faith always, woven through the threads of this space so that there is never any question of my character or of the God I serve, who guides me, and whom I am diligently, and faithfully following hard after.

My goal is to be vulnerable and to reach those who are women, moms, sisters, and friends who could just use a dose of authenticity in a world that is telling everyone to be different from who they are.  I certainly don’t have this nailed down.  I’m far from it but I’m hoping we can come alongside each other even for just a little while and share life together, encourage one another, and leave knowing a little bit more about who we are and WHOSE we are.

So to sum up Day 1 of the Feel Good Blogging Challenge:

My tribe consists of mostly women, probably younger mothers who are a little overwhelmed and trying to find their place in their new role.  These women are those who want to come together and celebrate the little joys of the every day.  To live in the moment, connect with our Creator on a daily basis, and to share in and be lifted up by my real struggles and triumphs and I candidly share our walk as a family.  These women definitely want to see pictures of my little boys because that is something I do best! 🙂

I want to share my story with women because we need each other.  Period.  We do.  As the stereotype can portray, and as we have probably all experienced a time or too, women can be difficult to understand or get along with.  We love each other but we also love to judge each other or envy one another, and instead, my desire is to just be real.  To share the struggles and triumphs so that I can hopefully just reach one woman who needs to hear the inner ramblings of my head.  To learn something from my blogs about my doula work and my passion for childbirth education and lactation consulting.  I’m taking a leap here by trusting God when I feel He has been urging me to start my blog again and to really hone my focus.  I’m trying to muddle through at the moment and figure out what that looks like but I’m trusting Him that there must be some reason He has given me to write and that there will someday be someone out there who needs to hear something I’ve written.

I’m going to be honest.  I’m still trying to figure out why someone would want to read something I’ve written.  Ultimately it isn’t about me, it is about Him.  And it is about them, you, the women I am hoping to serve.  My goal is to ultimately point my life toward Him so that others can seek and find Him and accept them into their hearts as well.  I have no clue what this looks like.  I’ve seen countless blogs before that are all packaged up so nicely and here I am, Simple Susie, having no real template or styling or any of that.  I hope to gain the knowledge and tools to do that but NOT so I can boast about my awesomeness in designing a blog but so I can create a space where others will want to come to be encouraged and have someone they can relate to because I’ve been there and I’m not perfect but I can share what I’ve learned along the way!

And lastly, I think you should know by reading this far that I hope women will take away the knowledge of and a love for our Savior, Jesus Christ.  I love Him.  I am still learning Him, who He is and how I can be more like Him.  My ultimate goal for this blog would not be for personal gain, but to point others toward Him.

“But those who wish to boast should boast in this alone: that they truly know me and understand that I am the LORD who demonstrates unfailing love and who brings justice and righteousness to the earth, and that I delight in these things. I, the LORD, have spoken!” Jeremiah 9:24

